लोक शिकायत निवारण
Public Grievance

The Staff Selection Commission is an attached office of the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) and comprises of Chairman, two Members and a Secretary-cum-Controller of Examinations. The main responsibility of the Commission is to make recruitments to Group C (Non-Technical) & Group B (Non-Gazetted- both Technical & Non-Technical) posts in various Departments of Government of India, its attached & subordinate offices except those for which recruitment is made by the Railway Recruitment Boards & Industrial Establishments. Further, the SSC also conducts examinations as per MoU signed between organisation like Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) for posts like Sub-Inspector, Constable (GD) etc. There are nine Regional Offices to assist in the conduct of examinations.

The Staff Selection Commission is also assigned the task of conducting Departmental Examinations for:

Promotion from Group D to LDC Grade,
Promotion from LDC to UDC Grade and
Promotion from Stenographers Grade D to Stenographers Grade C besides holding Periodical Typewriting Tests in English & Hindi.

Main responsibilities of Staff Selection Commission's Regional Offices include, inter alia, implementing the policies & programmes of the Commission, supervising & overseeing its field operations, liaisoning & establishing rapport with State Governments & their Departments, making arrangements for impartial & smooth conduct of examinations, & servicing the Examination Centres within their area of jurisdiction.

Organizational Structure

The SSC is headed by a Chairman with 2 Members & a Secretary-cum-Controller of Examinations.

The Commission is headed by Shri S. Kishore, IAS, Chairman.

Regional Network

The Staff Selection Commission has a nationwide network of 9 Regional Offices located at Allahabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Guwahati, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi, Chandigarh and Raipur. These Regional Offices are responsible for receipt & processing of applications for various examinations, issue of admit cards to the candidates, conducting the Interviews/PETs (wherever required) either at the Regional Headquarters or other major cities within the regions.

The jurisdiction of the various Regional/Sub-Regional Offices is as under:

S.No. Region Location Jurisdiction
1. Central Region Prayagraj Uttar Pradesh & Bihar
2. Eastern Region Kolkata West Bengal, Orissa, Sikkim, Jharkhand & Andaman & Nicobar Islands
3. Northern Region New Delhi NCT of Delhi, Rajasthan & Uttarakhand
4. Western Region Mumbai Maharashtra, Gujrat, Goa, Union Territory of Daman, Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
5. Southern Region Chennai Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Tamil Nadu & Puducherry (UT)
6. Kerala-Karnataka Region Bengaluru Karnataka, Kerala & Lakshadweep (UT)
7. North-Eastern Region Guwahati Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland & Tripura
8. Madhya Pradesh Region Raipur Madhya Pradesh & Chhattisgarh
9. North-Western Sub-Region Chandigarh Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh (UT)


Examination Centres for Madhya Pradesh Regional Office (varying from exam to exam)

Madhya Pradesh Bhopal, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Indore, Ujjain, Satna, Sagar,
Chattishgarh Raipur, Durg-Bhilai, Bilaspur

The contents of this site are informatory in nature.
You are advised to verify the same from Commission's office or from the notices published in the 'Employment News'.